Stephen Graham Jones and a Ton of Other Best-selling Authors Are Writing Unioverse Stories

Chris Albrecht
October 19, 2022

Perhaps the best way to kick off this blog post is to hand it over to Mr. Stephen King himself:

Why am I referring to a nearly-year-old tweet from the master of horror? Well, because the guy who wrote that “Thrilling, literate, scary, immersive” novel, Stephen Graham Jones, is putting his talent to work for the Unioverse. 

Jones, along with 27 other writers such as Linda D. Addison  (Black Panther: Tales of Wakanda) and Kevin J. Anderson (Dune: The Butlerian Jihad) are contributing to Stories of the Reconvergence, a forthcoming anthology of short stories and poetry set in the Unioverse. Each story will also feature original art by Stuart Jennett (Star Citizen) with cover art by Aaron Lovett (Monster Train). Stories of the Reconvergence will be edited by Colorado Book Award winner Joshua Viola and Angie Hodapp, Director of Literary Development at Nelson Literary Agency and published in the Summer of 2023, and you can check out the full list of authors below. 

And if that wasn’t exciting enough, we’re also launching a comic book series. The six-issue story arc will introduce the initial five Unioverse heroes that people will be able to play in Unioverse games. The series is written by Viola and Hodapp, with interior art by Ben Matsuya (Cryowulf), cover art by AJ Nazzaro (Overwatch) and a variant cover by Tyler Kirkham (DC, Marvel). The first comic, titled Unioverse: Reyu, will be available digitally in Spring of 2023. 

Both Stories of the Reconvergence and Unioverse: Reyu are being done in partnership with Hex Publishers, an independent publishing house owned and operated by Viola that specializes in genre fiction: horror, science fiction, crime, dark fantasy and more. 

We are thrilled to have all of these talented people on-board to help expand the Unioverse into the entertaining and enthralling franchise that you (and Stephen King) are going to love. 

You can read the full press announcement here.

Complete list of Stories of the Reconvergence writers: 

  • Mario Acevedo • National bestseller, Colorado Book Award winner
    Killing the Cobra, The Nymphos of Rocky Flats, X-Rated Blood Suckers, University of Doom
  • Linda D. Addison • Bram Stoker Award winner, Horror Writers Association (HWA) Lifetime Achievement Award winner
    Black Panther: Tales of Wakanda, Classic Monsters Unleashed, Predator: Eyes of the Demon, The Place of Broken Things
  • Kevin J. Anderson • National and international bestseller
    Dune, Spine of the Dragon, Star Wars, X-Files, Zombie P.I.
  • Andy Baker  
    The 7th Portal, The Accuser, The Backstreet Project, House of the Dead
  • Carina Bissett • Colorado Book Award winner
    HWA Poetry Showcase, Shadow Atlas, Upon a Twice Time
  • Kenneth W. Cain • Splatterpunk Award finalist
    Darker Days, Embers, A Season in Hell, Tales from the Lake
  • Kevin Dilmore Amazing Stories, Famous Monsters of Filmland, Rainbow Bright, Star Trek, The Village Voice 
  • Sean Eads • Colorado Book Award finalist, Lambda Literary Award finalist, Shirley Jackson Award finalist
    Classic Monsters Unleashed, It Came from the Multiplex, Lord Byron’s Prophecy, Nightmares Unhinged, Shadow Atlas
  • Brent FriedmanCall of Duty, Halo 4, League of Legends, Star Trek: Enterprise, Star Wars: The Clone Wars, The Walking Dead
  • Maxwell I. Gold • Rhysling Award nominee
    Bleeding Rainbows and Other Broken Spectrums, Oblivion in Flux, Shadow Atlas 
  • Warren Hammond • Colorado Book Award winner
    Denver Moon, It Came from the Multiplex, KOP, Nightmares Unhinged, Shadow Atlas, Tides of Maritinia
  • Angie Hodapp • Colorado Book Award finalist
    Cyber World, False Faces, It Came from the Multiplex, Shadow Atlas, Tooth & Claw
  • Jamal Hodge • Vanguard Award winner
    Chiral Mad 5, Penumbric Magazine, Space and Time Magazine 
  • Akua Lezli Hope • Elgin Award winner, Writer’s Digest Award winner
    NOMBONO, Otherwheres, Them Gone
  • Gabino Iglesias • Bram Stoker Award nominee, Locus Award nominee, Wonderland Book Award winner
    Zero Saints, Coyote Songs
  • Stephen Graham Jones • New York Times bestseller, Bram Stoker Award winner, Ray Bradbury Prize
    Earthdivers, My Heart is a Chainsaw, The Only Good Indians
  • Matthew Kressel • Nebula Award finalist, World Fantasy Award finalist
    King of Shards, Queen of Static
  • Lee Murray • Bram Stoker Award winner
    Grotesque: Monster Stories, The Path of Ra, The Taine McKenna Adventures
  • Wyeth Ridgway • Game Developer
    Lord of the Rings, Pirates of the Caribbean, South Park, Terminator
  • Jeanne C. Stein • bestselling author of the Anna Strong Vampire Chronicles
  • Joshua Viola • Denver Post bestseller, Colorado Book Award winner, Splatterpunk Award nominee
    The Bane of Yoto, Blackstar, Classic Monsters Unleashed, Cyber World, Denver Moon, It Came from the Multiplex, Nightmares Unhinged, Pirates of the Caribbean, Shadow Atlas, Target: Terror
  • Tim Waggoner • Bram Stoker Award winner, Shirley Jackson Award finalist
    Alien, Halloween Kills, Resident Evil, Supernatural
  • Dayton Ward • New York Times bestseller
    24, Mars Attacks, Planet of the Apes, Star Trek 
  • Carter Wilson • USA Today bestseller, Colorado Book Award winner
    The Comfort of Black, The Dead Girl in 2A, The Dead Husband, Mister Tender’s Girl
  • Jezzy Wolfe
    Insidious Assassins, Monstrum Poetica, Shallow Waters, Zippered Flesh
  • Jane Yolen • Nebula Award winner, World Fantasy Award winner
    The Devil’s Arithmetic, Lost Girls, Owl Moon, Sister Emily’s Lightship 
  • Alvaro Zinos-Amaro • Hugo Award finalist, Locus Award finalist
    Equimedian, Traveler of Worlds: Conversations with Robert Silverberg, When the Blue Shift Comes
Share this